How To Delete Snapchat Account

October 20, 2022 -

How To Delete Snapchat Account? Snapchat is an instant messaging app popular among young people that allows users to send photos and videos that can only be viewed for a short time. But while millions of active users consume and create content with Snapchat daily, not everyone is happy with the mobile app.

A significant concern with Snapchat is that the recipient can record images without the creator’s knowledge or consent. And although Snapchat notifies the sender when a recipient takes a screenshot or records a video through proprietary software, some apps allow recipients to bypass those checks. If you no longer want to have your Snapchat account, you can choose to delete it.

How To Delete Snapchat Account

If you just want a break from the app, you might want to disable your Snapchat. Currently, there is no direct way to temporarily disable your account. The only way to disable Snapchat is to delete it.

After you delete Snapchat, the platform gives you 30 days to change your mind before permanently deleting your account. So, to temporarily disable your Snapchat, you can cancel the deletion process before the 30-day period ends.

How To Delete Snapchat Account

How to reactivate your Snapchat account?

Reactivating your Snapchat account is easy as long as you are within the 30-day deletion window. Launch your Snapchat app and log in again with your credentials. It may take up to 24 hours to reactivate your account.

Can you reactivate your Snapchat account after 30 days?

After initiating the deletion process you will not be able to log back into your account for 30 days. However, you can create a new Snapchat account after your old one expires.

How to download your Snapchat data

Your Snapchat Snapchat messaging app data carries your login history, account information, profiles, snap and chat history, memories, friends, search history, Bitmoji, and more. You can download your Snapchat data before you delete your account to preserve the information.

  1. Go to accounts.snapchat.com
  2. Log into your account.
  3. Click My Data and then click Submit Request.
  4. You’ll receive a download link to your verified Snapchat email address.
  5. Use the link to download your data.

How to delete your Snapchat account

Delete Snapchat Account
Delete Snapchat Account
  1. Go to accounts.snapchat.com
  2. Log into your account.
  3. Scroll down until you see Delete My Account on the Manage My Account page.
  4. Click Delete My Account.
  5. Enter your username and password to confirm.
  6. Click Continue to start the process.
  7. Don’t log into the app again.
  8. Your Snapchat account will be deleted permanently in 30 days.

Delete your account if you’re on iOS Device.

  1. Tap the ⚙️ button on the Profile screen to open Settings
  2. Scroll down to “Account Actions”
  3. Tap “Delete Account
  4. Follow the steps to delete your account

What happens if you delete your Snapchat account?

The instant you complete the Snapchat deletion process, an invisible 30-day timer starts. You now have just over four weeks to change your mind. After 30 days, Snapchat deletes the following data from its database:

  • Account
  • Account settings
  • Friends
  • Snaps
  • Chats
  • Story
  • Device data
  • Location data

According to Snapchat, some of your personal information may remain in the database for “certain legal, security and business needs.”